After reducing the 538 nominations to the top 30 finalists from across the country, New Zealand Football is proud to announce the six association winners of the McDonald’s Junior Football Coach of the Year 2021.

The association winners are:

Mike de Vetter, Onerahi FC (NRF)

Always looking for ways to enable his Onerahi 9th Grade Blue team to shine with Manaakitanga and Aroha and to be seen as positive role models, Mike was nominated for his commitment to fostering the team spirit of his players and exemplifying positive behaviors for his players Be sure to praise opposing teams for good performance and promote a team culture where their players are the first to help pack at the end of a game or practice session.

Darren Vedder, Otonga FC (WaiBOP Football)

As a champion and board member of Otonga FC, Darren was nominated for his dedication to girls’ and women’s football in Rotorua, and never turned down a girl who wants to play football, even if her U-10 squad is almost too big for him manage.

Spencer Salt, Peringa AFC (Central Football)

Dedicated to his Peringa Lions players as a team and individuals, Spencer runs the Peringa Junior Hub and is part of this year’s Taranaki FTC program. Encouraging players to try new things (including other sports), running workouts that the kids never want to leave, and his thoughtful and engaging game reviews.

Radha McGlashan, Douglas Villa AFC (Capital Football)

Radha got the tunes going before training and organized team building events like bowling and dinner. Radha was nominated for being a positive role model for her players. Parents can’t stand her and encourage good manners and positive attitudes on the field.

Phillip Law, Cashmere Technique (Mainland Soccer)

As the hero of his players for Cashmere Tech Amazon, Phillip was nominated for his bright socks (unfortunately not shown), his commitment to all players who want to play (even as a coach for a second team if you didn’t have a coach). , his constant positive attitude, teaching teamwork and various fun exercises to his players, and the love for the game that he has fostered in his players.

Emma Baird, Northern Hearts AFC (Soccer South)

Emma focused on connecting with her players and nurturing their passions (e.g. taking part in their bike races at the end of practice). and an open-minded attitude as well as the organization of appealing and varied training units in order to develop well-rounded players.

The six association winners are now in the running for the title of McDonald’s junior soccer coach of the year 2021, which is currently being advised by a New Zealand soccer committee. The winner will be announced this Friday.

All 30 finalists are eligible for the first McDonald’s Coach of the Year People’s Choice Award, which ends at midnight tonight (September 14th). Enter your vote here.

Item added: Tuesday September 14, 2021