After the FFA Cup 2020 was canceled due to COVID-19, it’s back and in the process of adding A-League clubs to the mix.

After a series of qualifiers across all of Australia’s states, the competition is on the verge of winning its last 32 clubs.

The FFA Cup is facing a big year as it welcomes a new broadcaster and seeks to fill the football void in the A-League’s long off-season.

EXPLANATION: Paramount + – Australian rights holder for Socceroos, Matildas, A-League, W-League and FFA Cup

FIND OUT MORE : Stay up to date with all the news about Paramount +

Which clubs will stay in the FFA Cup this year?

society league
Wollongong wolves National Premier League NSW
APIA Leichhardt National Premier League NSW
City of Blacktown National Premier League NSW
Olympia in Sydney National Premier League NSW
Mt.Druitt Town Rangers National Premier League NSW
Meadow magic National Premier League North NSW
Olympia in Newcastle National Premier League North NSW
Cooma FC National Premier Leagues Capital Football
Adelaide City National Premier League South Australia
Olympia in Adelaide National Premier League South Australia
Joondalup control unit National Premier League Western Australia
Floreat Athena National Premier League Western Australia
Casuarina FC NorZone Premier League (Northern Territory)
Edge Hill United National Premier League Northern Queensland
Gold Coast United National Premier League Queensland
Lions FC National Premier League Queensland
Peninsular power National Premier League Queensland
Avondale FC National Premier League Victoria
South Melbourne National Premier League Victoria
Hume city National Premier League Victoria
Sharks in Port Melbourne National Premier League Victoria
Devonport City striker National Premier League Tasmania
Adelaide United A league
Brisbane Roar A league
Seafarers on the central coast A league
Macarthur FC A league
Melbourne city A league
Sydney FC A league
Wellington Phoenix A league
Western Sydney Wanderers A league
Perth Glory or Melbourne Victory A league
Western United or Newcastle Jets A league

FFA Cup Round of 32 Games and Results

date Time (AEST) game Stadion transmission
TBC TBC Sydney Olympic – Sydney FC TBC 10 games
TBC TBC Broadmeadow Magic versus Western Sydney Wanderers TBC 10 games
TBC TBC Tigers FC versus APIA Leichhardt TBC 10 games
TBC TBC Blacktown City versus Central Coast Mariners TBC 10 games
TBC TBC Mt Druitt Town Rangers versus Wollongong Wolves TBC 10 games
TBC TBC Newcastle Olympic – Macarthur FC TBC 10 games
TBC TBC Lions FC – Casuarina FC Lions Stadium 10 games
TBC TBC Edge Hill United versus Gold Coast Knights Barlow Park 10 games
TBC TBC Peninsula Power versus Brisbane Roar Moreton Daily Stadium 10 games
TBC TBC Wellington Phoenix – Newcastle Jets / Western United TBC (won’t be in New Zealand) 10 games
TBC TBC Avondale FC – Devonport City Strikers ABD stadium 10 games
TBC TBC Hume City versus Port Melbourne Sharks ABD stadium 10 games
TBC TBC South Melbourne – Melbourne City Lakeside Stadium 10 games
TBC TBC ECU Joondalup versus Adelaide Olympic Dorrien Gardens 10 games
TBC TBC Adelaide City versus Perth Glory / Melbourne Victory Steve Woodcock Sports Center 10 games
TBC TBC Floreat Athena versus Adelaide United Dorrien Gardens 10 games

Key dates for the FFA Cup 2021

Before the round of 32, four A-League clubs faced each other for the last places with their play-off games, which are expected to take place in August.

However, the dates for these games and the Round 32 games have been postponed due to the COVID-19 situation in Australia.

At this point, the FFA Cup final is likely to take place in October, with Football Australia previously hoping to have completed the competition before the new A-League season begins.

This is how you see the FFA Cup in Australia

The games of the FFA Cup this year have so far been available on YouTube, with the respective clubs also streaming the games live if possible.

However, from the round of 32 onwards, Network Ten and Paramount Plus will be the official channels for the competition, which recently acquired the rights from Fox Sports.

At this point, however, the first few games will be available live and for free at 10 Play as Paramount + will likely iron out any initial kinks.

The new streaming service will cost $ 8.99 per month, with a cheaper price available for A-League club members.

History of the FFA Cup

Adelaide United is the current cup winner after winning the competition for the third time in 2019.

Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC have all won the FFA Cup once, while Sky Blues and Perth Glory lost two finals.

Earlier this year, Shaun Robinson scored the competition’s fastest goal ever after hitting a net in 12 seconds for Nerang Soccer Club.

The FFA Cup was founded in 2014 when Adelaide United won the opening final after beating Perth Glory 1-0.

James Johnson, CEO of Football Australia, confirmed in July this year that the FFA Cup will be given a new name at this year’s final.

What does the winner of the FFA Cup get?

This year, the winners of the FFA Cup will for the first time receive a qualifying place in the AFC Champions League.

Previously, a small amount of prize money was also distributed to clubs, depending on how far they got in the tournament.