Steve Bruce has added four goalkeepers to his Premier League squad after Newcastle United made just one signing in the summer transfer window.

Top clubs had to present a list of 25 players to the Premier League after the window closed last week.

Although Newcastle rivals have made several additions, the Magpies, in Bruce’s own words, had to “break all the rules” to sign Joe Willock permanently from Arsenal after paying the fee in installments rather than a lump sum.

READ MORE: Steve Bruce may be in the process of giving anonymous Newcastle bosses what they want or what they hate

Willock had been Bruce’s number one target but the Newcastle boss was still frustrated with the club’s refusal to loan Hamza Choudhury to complement the midfielder’s arrival.

Bruce had even hoped to make room for a new signing in his 25-man squad by naming three goalkeepers instead of four.

The Newcastle boss originally weighed four because Martin Dubravka is out until October and Karl Darlow was not sent back after a hospital stay with COVID in July.

However, since then, Darlow has made encouraging strides, and the Shot-Stopper hopes to resume activity sometime in the coming weeks after training.

With no other options for the senior outfield, however, Bruce decided to get his entire squad involved, with Freddie Woodman starting all of the Magpies’ games this season and Mark Gillespie also making the cut.

Bruce won’t be able to make any changes to his squad until the transfer window reopens on New Years Day and the Newcastle head coach is due to come up with an updated roster for the second half of the season in February.

Newcastle could have hosted up to 17 players who did not meet the domestic player criteria, but the majority of the squad is made up of players who have graduated from an English academy. The Magpies thus easily fulfilled the requirement to name at least eight local players in their squad.

The Premier League defines a domestic player as someone who, regardless of nationality or age, has been registered with an affiliated club of the Football Association or the Football Association of Wales for a period of three full seasons or 36 months prior to their 21st birthday or the end of the season in which he will be 21 years old.

Newcastle’s local players are as follows: Ciaran Clark, Karl Darlow, Paul Dummett, Dwight Gayle, Mark Gillespie, Isaac Hayden, Jeff Hendrick, Jamal Lewis, Jamaal Lascelles, Sean Longstaff, Jacob Murphy, Matt Ritchie, Jonjo Shelvey, Joe Willock, Callum Wilson and Freddie Woodman.

This leaves Miguel Almiron, Martin Dubravka, Federico Fernandez, Ryan Fraser, Joelinton, Emil Krafth, Javier Manquillo, Allan Saint-Maximin and Fabian Schar the remaining players who are not considered domestic players.

Homegrown children under the age of 21, such as Eliot Anderson, do not have to be named in the 25-strong squad.

Here is Newcastle’s full roster for the first half of the campaign:

Goalkeepers: Martin Dubravka, Karl Darlow, Freddie Woodman, Mark Gillespie

Defenders: Jamaal Lascelles, Federico Fernandez, Paul Dummett, Ciaran Clark, Fabian Schar, Matt Ritchie, Jamal Lewis, Emil Krafth, Javier Manquillo, Jacob Murphy

Midfilders: Jonjo Shelvey, Isaac Hayden, Jeff Hendrick, Ryan Fraser, Miguel Almiron, Joe Willock, Sean Longstaff

Forwards: Callum Wilson, Joelinton, Allan Saint-Maximin, Dwight Gayle

We want to hear your thoughts on this story, so log in and leave your comment below

Continue reading
Continue reading