Sunderland will launch its League One home campaign against Wigan Athletic on Saturday, August 7th. Fans will return to the Stadium of Light for a league game for the first time since the Covid pandemic in March 2020.

It could also be that midfielder Max Power, who re-signed for the Latics after being sacked by the Black Cats this summer, is returning to Wearside for the opener.

Sunderland will then take part in the first round of the Carabao Cup on either August 10 or 11, with the draw for that competition due to take place this afternoon before they head to MK Stadium on August 14 for their first away game against MK Dons in the league.

READ MORE: Dion Sanderson Dilemma Sunderland Is Facing

The game planers seem to have been relatively friendly to Sunderland – at least on paper – as Lee Johnson’s team faced teams that ended up in the lower half of the table in their first four league games.

Wigan narrowly escaped relegation last season, finishing one place and one point from the relegation zone, while MK Dons finished 13th last season.

Sunderland will then travel to Pirelli Stadium during the week on August 17 to face Burton Albion, who finished 16th in the standings after Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink took the lead mid-season and got them out of relegation danger.

On Saturday, August 21st, they will face AFC Wimbledon at the Stadium of Light, which finished sixth.

August will be rounded off with a home game against the Wycombe Wanderers, who were relegated from the championship last season, though there is a chance the chairboys will be given a reprieve and Derby County will be relegated in their place if the EFL appeals the sanctions An independent disciplinary committee has imposed the Rams on violations of the accounting rules and a retroactive point deduction is made instead.

In a statement last night, the EFL said it had developed “interchangeable” fixtures for Wycombe and Derby, meaning that if Derby were relegated, they would simply inherit each other’s fixtures.

Over Christmas and New Years, Sunderland will travel to advertising rivals Ipswich Town on December 18, before visiting Doncaster Rovers on Boxing Day.

Continue reading
Continue reading

Sheffield Wednesday will come to the Stadium of Light on Wednesday evening, December 29th, and Sunderland will also be home on New Years Day when they face Simon Grayson’s Fleetwood Town.

For Easter, Sunderland will meet Shrewsbury Town at the Stadium of Light on April 15th – Good Friday – before making their longest trip of the season to Plymouth Argyle on Easter Monday, April 18th.

The season ends on Saturday April 30th with a trip to Morecambe that rounds off Sunderland’s program.

Other notable games include Sunderland’s first visit to Cheltenham Town, which will take place on February 8th. It will also be the first league meeting between the teams.

What is your verdict on the Sunderland schedule? Sign in and join the conversation in the comments.

Lincoln City defeated Sunderland in the play-off semi-finals last season, and they face each other at the Stadium of Light on November 13, with the return leg at Sincil Bank on March 19.

And the Black Cats travel to perennial advertising rivals Portsmouth on October 2nd, with the return leg at Wearside on January 22nd.

All game dates may change if selected for TV coverage, but here is the preliminary full length schedule list below.

Sunderland Games


07 Wigan Athletic (h)

14 Milton Keynes Dons (a)

17 Burton Albion (a)

21 AFC Wimbledon (h)

28 Wycombe Walkers (h)


04 Sheffield Wednesday (a)

11 Accrington-Stanley (h)

18 City of Fleetwood (a)

25 Bolton Walkers (h)

28 Cheltenham City (h)


02 Portsmouth (a)

09 Oxford United (h)

16 Gillingham (a)

19 Crewe Alexandra (a)

23 Charlton (h)

30 Rotherham United (a)


13 Lincoln City (h)

20 City of Ipswich (h)

23 Shrewsbury City (a)

27 Cambridge United (a)


07 Morecambe (h)

11 Plymouth Argyle (h)

18 Ipswich City (a)

26 Doncaster Rover (a)

29 Sheffield Wednesday (h)


01 City of Fleetwood (h)

08 Wycombe Walkers (a)

15 Accrington-Stanley (a)

22 Portsmouth (h)

29 Bolton Walkers (a)


05 Doncaster Rover (h)

08 Cheltenham City (a)

12 AFC Wimbledon (a)

19 Milton Keynes Dons (h)

22 Burton Albion (h)

26 Wigan Athletic (a)


05 Charlton Athletic (a)

12 Crewe Alexandra (h)

19 Lincoln City (a)

26 Rotherham United (h)


02 Gillingham (h)

09 Oxford United (a)

15 Shrewsbury City (h)

18 Plymouth Argyle (a)

23 Cambridge United (h)

30 Morecambe (a)

Continue reading
Continue reading