Chelsea have confirmed their Premier League squad for the current Premier League season.

Outcasts Ross Barkley, Malang Sarr and Lewis Baker were all included, as was Ruben Loftus-Cheek, though all four have not played a first-team game so far this season.

Barkley spent the 2020-21 season on loan at Aston Villa and was scheduled to leave Stamford Bridge in the summer, but no deal has been made on his transfer.

The midfielder moved from Everton to West London in 2018 and has played 86 games since then. However, the number eight shirt he previously wore has now been given to Mateo Kovacic. Barkley now wears the number 18 when his services are needed.

Continue reading
Continue reading

The Blues have convinced in their three top games so far and want – coupled with an impressive summer transfer deal – to take off with the squad now named by Thomas Tuchel.

Tuchel’s side have already picked up seven points in the top division this season, but the closure of the transfer window means that the clubs will now have to confirm their squads for the coming season, including at least eight players classified as domestic players.

The transfer window is over and the season is in full swing

When you sign up for the Chelsea newsletter here, you make sure you get the latest and greatest Chelsea news straight to your inbox, including the best content from club writers, fan brands and more – all for free!

And if you’d like to join the discussion in the comments and join the Q & As to get your questions answered, create an account here because we want to hear from you too.

The term refers to any player who has been playing for three or more seasons before their 21st birthday.

As a result, Andreas Christensen and Romelu Lukaku are both considered to be native, although they represent Denmark and Belgium respectively on an international level.

Chelsea are actually over the threshold with 10 of their registered members considered resident members, including midfielder Baker, who only appeared once for the Blues first team and not since his three-minute FA Cup cameo in 2014.

Chelsea’s Premier League 2021-22 squad and numbers:

Goalkeepers: Edouard Mendy (16), Kepa Arrizabalaga (1), Marcus Bettinelli (13), Lucas Bergstrom (36)

Defenders: Antonio Rüdiger (2), Marcos Alonso (3), Andreas Christensen (4), Thiago Silva (6), Trevoh Chalobah (14), Ben Chilwell (21), Reece James (24), Cesar Azpilicueta (28), Malang Sarr (31)

Midfielders: Jorginho (5), N’Golo Kante (7), Mateo Kovacic (8), Christian Pulisic (10), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (12), Saul Niguez (17), Ross Barkley (18), Mason Mount ( 19), Callum Hudson-Odoi (20), Hakim Ziyech (22), Kai Havertz (29), Lewis Baker (32)

Forwards: Romelu Lukaku (9), Timo Werner (11)