Football of the second autumn season starts on Friday with a seven-week game plan that could not be played during the 2020 autumn season due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The configuration of each of the five classifications shows 12 teams competing in classes A, B, C and D. Eight teams are represented in class AA this season.

As early as November 2019, Shenendehowa (Class AA), Queensbury (Class B), Schuylerville (Class B), Stillwater (Class C) and Warrensburg (Class D) were the programs that won Section II championships. Schuylerville and Stillwater each dropped a classification.

This season, the winning teams are considered classification winners. Usually, a team that plays a level or two away from its assigned classification is not eligible for postseason play. Since the titles played are not official section championships, all playing teams can fight for the championship of the assigned classification in week 7.

Here is a breakdown of each Fall Season II class:


Shenendehowa football team hoist the New York State Class AA quarterfinal badge after defeating Pine Bush at Shaker High School on Friday, November 15, 2019 (Jim Franco / Times Union Special).James Franco

The Empire Division consists of Guilderland, Saratoga, Schenectady, and Shenendehowa. The Liberty Division consists of Bethlehem, the Christian Brothers Academy, Colonie and Shaker.

Each team will have the other division in weeks 1 through 4. In week 5, the top team in each division meets the bottom team in its division, and seeds # 2 and # 3 battle for the right to move into the top 4 to compete for the classification title.

The highlight of the weekly schedule of the first week on Friday are the multi-year forces Shaker and Shenendehowa in the Steuerwald Stadium.


The Capital Division consists of Albany, Amsterdam, Averill Park, Colombia, La Salle and Troy. The Grasso Division consists of Ballston Spa, Burnt Hills, Mohonasen, Niskayuna, Queensbury, and Scotia.

Each division will compete against the other teams within its division for the first five weeks. The top two contestants will meet to determine which teams will fight for the title in week 7.

Notable opening week games include Troy at La Salle and Ballston Spa in Burnt Hills.


Broadalbin-Perth, Glens Falls, Gloversville, Green Tech, Hudson Falls and South Glens Falls make up the North Division. Cobleskill, Holy Trinity, Hudson, Lansingburgh, Ravena and Schalmont form the Reinfurt division.

Four of the six games in the first week are considered scrimmages. The other two will show opponents from different classifications.


The Northern Division consists of Corinth / Fort Edward, Fonda, Granville, Johnstown, Mechanicville and Stillwater. The southern division consists of Catskill / Cairo Durham, Coxsackie-Athens, Hoosick Falls / Tamarac, Ichabod Crane, Taconic Hills and Watervliet.

Schuylerville, 2019 Class B title winner, opens in Mechanicville on Saturday.


The North Division consists of Cambridge / Salem, Greenwich, Lake George / Hadley-Luzerne, Stillwater, Warrensburg and Whitehall. The division of the South Division is Canajoharie, Chatham, Cohoes, Helderberg Valley, Hoosic Valley and Voorheesville.

Some of the pre-season games are played in neutral locations with grass fields.