A pulsating all-English Champions League final brought the 2020-21 club season to an end – now all eyes are on the euro.

This summer’s European Championship (still confusingly referred to as Euro 2020 despite the Covid-19 delay) is taking place across the continent for the first time in the history of the competition.

Despite some coronavirus travel disruptions, there will be 11 host cities sharing a total of 51 games in a full month of international promotions.

Receive expert FPL tips delivered straight to your inbox

This is where the tournament begins and the full list of groups and matches for Euro 2020.

Continue reading

When is Euro 2021? Dates, groups, full fixtures, UK TV coverage, venues, predictions and more

When do the euros start?

The first game of the 2020 European Championship will take place on Friday, June 11th. Turkey will face Italy at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome.

You can watch it live on BBC One and online on BBC iPlayer – all games in the tournament will be broadcast on the BBC or ITV, with S4C also showing games in Wales.

The first time a British team will be in action will be on Saturday 12 June when Wales open their tournament against Switzerland in Baku at 2pm.

England start their euro the following day against Croatia at Wembley at 2pm, while Scotland will face the Czech Republic at the same time on Monday 14 June at Hampden Park.

Wales will be the first of the home states in the Euro 2020 campaign (Photo: Action Images / Reuters)

What are the Euro 2020 groups?

As with the last European Championship, it will be a tournament with 24 teams.

It is organized in six groups of four, with two teams emerging and the two best third-placed teams in the round of 16.

There is a satisfying nod to € 96 when England and Scotland face each other while Group F can claim to be the “death group” of the tournament where France, Germany and Portugal have moved together.

Wales have a good chance of replicating their success at Euro 2016 – when they reached the semi-finals – after being drawn in a group with Italy, Switzerland and Turkey.

Here are the groups complete:

  • Group a: Italy, Switzerland, Turkey, Wales
  • Group B: Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Russia
  • Group C: Austria, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Ukraine
  • Group D: Croatia, Czech Republic, England, Scotland
  • Group E: Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden
  • Group F: France, Germany, Hungary, Portugal

There are shades of 96 euros with England facing Scotland in the group stage (Photo: Getty Images).

Euro 2020 games in full

Group a:

  • Friday June 11th: Turkey versus Italy
  • Saturday 12 June: Wales versus Switzerland
  • Wednesday June 16: Turkey v Wales
  • Wednesday June 16: Italy versus Switzerland
  • Sunday 20 June: Italy v Wales
  • Sunday June 20th: Switzerland versus Turkey

Group B:

  • Saturday 12 June: Denmark versus Finland
  • Saturday June 12th: Belgium versus Russia
  • Wednesday June 16: Finland versus Russia
  • Thursday June 17th: Denmark versus Belgium
  • Monday 21 June: Finland versus Belgium
  • Monday 21 June: Russia versus Denmark

Group C:

  • Sunday June 13th: Austria versus North Macedonia
  • Sunday 13 June: Netherlands versus Ukraine
  • Thursday June 17th: Ukraine versus North Macedonia
  • Thursday 17th June: Netherlands versus Austria
  • Monday, June 21: Ukraine versus Austria
  • Monday June 21st: North Macedonia versus the Netherlands

Group D:

  • Sunday 13 June: England versus Croatia
  • Monday 14 June: Scotland v Czech Republic
  • Friday June 18: Croatia versus Czech Republic
  • Friday 18th June: England versus Scotland
  • Tuesday 22 June: Czech Republic v England
  • Tuesday June 22nd: Croatia versus Scotland

Group E:

  • Monday 14 June: Poland versus Slovakia
  • Monday 14 June: Spain versus Sweden
  • Friday June 18: Sweden versus Slovakia
  • Saturday 19 June: Spain versus Poland
  • Wednesday 23 June: Sweden versus Poland
  • Wednesday 23 June: Slovakia versus Spain

Group F:

  • Tuesday June 15: Hungary versus Portugal
  • Tuesday June 15: France versus Germany
  • Saturday 19th June: Hungary versus France
  • Saturday 19 June: Portugal versus Germany
  • Wednesday 23 June: Germany versus Hungary
  • Wednesday 23 June: Portugal versus France

Round of 16:

  • Saturday, June 26th: 2A against 2B (Game 1)
  • Saturday, June 26: 1A against 2C (Game 2)
  • Sunday, June 27th: 1C against 3D / E / F (Game 3)
  • Sunday, June 27: 1B against 3A / D / E / F (Game 4)
  • Monday, June 28th: ​​2D versus 2E (game 5)
  • Monday, June 28: 1F versus 3A / B / C (Game 6)
  • Tuesday, June 29: 1D versus 2F (Game 7)
  • Tuesday, June 29: 1E against 3A / B / C / D (Game 8)

Quarter Finals:

  • Friday July 2nd: Winner of Game 6 versus Winner of Game 5
  • Friday July 2nd: Winner of Game 4 versus Winner of Game 2
  • Saturday 3rd July: Winner of Game 3 versus Winner of Game 1
  • Saturday 3rd July: Winner of Game 8 versus Winner of Game 7


  • Tuesday July 6th: QF2 winners versus QF1 winners
  • Wednesday July 7th: QF4 winner versus QF3 winner