Eleven Man City players have been called up to join Team GB’s 18-man squad for the Tokyo Olympics.

Hege Riise, who was named head coach of Team GB in March, made her pick ahead of the tournament, which starts July 21st.

In April, Team GB learned that their group stage opponents would be Japan, Canada and Chile when they take a women’s soccer team to the Olympics for the second time in history.

Riise – also interim coach of the English women – appointed a squad of 18 players in addition to four reserves.

Hege Riise, interim trainer for the English women, will be responsible for Team GB in Japan

Caroline Weir (Scotland), Kim Little (Scotland) and Sophie Ingle (Wales) are the only non-English players on the squad while no players from Northern Ireland have been selected.

Karen Bardsley, Steph Houghton, Ellen White and Kim Little will all play in their second Olympics.

Full squad:

Karen Bardsley (Manchester City), Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City), Millie Bright (Chelsea), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Demi Stokes (Manchester City), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Sophie Ingle (Chelsea), Kim Little (Arsenal), Keira Walsh (Manchester City), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Caroline Weir (Manchester City), Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Nikita Parris (Lyon), Georgia Stanway (Manchester City), Ellen White (Manchester City).


Sandy MacIver (Everton), Lotte Wubben Moy (Arsenal), Niamh Charles (Chelsea) and Ella Toone (Manchester United).