The way for the European nations to Qatar 2022 has been opened. UEFA’s 55 member associations are launching their qualifying campaigns to reach the final next year.

England, one of the top seeds, will be happy with the group they received, with Poland and Hungary topping their opponents’ rank while Wales will also have to get past Belgium and the Czech Republic to sign up for the flagship project in 2022 to qualify.

Scotland avoided many of the top teams in Europe, with Denmark and Austria being the top teams of their opponents.

But how many teams qualify per group? Sky Sports gives you a comprehensive overview of how the European qualifiers work.

World Cup qualification 2022 euros at Sky Sports

Follow the World Cup qualification live on Sky Sports on Sunday 2022 from 2 p.m. Also, follow our dedicated live blog and check out in-game clips and free game highlights on Sky Sports digital platforms.

Follow Albania v England on our dedicated Sunday blog. Watch game highlights 15 minutes after full time.

How many European nations qualify?

France’s head coach Didier Deschamps and his team keep the World Cup in the air

A total of 13 places are available for the UEFA teams in the final tournament. The 55 teams were divided into five groups of five and five groups of six.

The winners of the 10 groups automatically qualify for the finals, which will be held for the first time in November and December 2022 in order to avoid the punishing summer heat in the Middle East.

What are the groups?


As England prepares to face San Marino and Albania in World Cup qualifiers, Rob Dorsett briefs Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka, Jesse Lingard, Ollie Watkins, Jude Bellingham and the goalkeeping situation

Group a: Portugal, Serbia, Irish Republic, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan

Group B: Spain, Sweden, Greece, Georgia, Kosovo

Group C.: Italy, Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Lithuania

Group D: France, Ukraine, Finland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kazakhstan

Group E: Belgium, Wales, Czech Republic, Belarus, Estonia

Group F: Denmark, Austria, Scotland, Israel, Faroe Islands, Moldova

Group G: Netherlands, Turkey, Norway, Montenegro, Latvia, Gibraltar

Group H: Croatia, Slovakia, Russia, Slovenia, Cyprus, Malta

Group I: England, Poland, Hungary, Albania, Andorra, San Marino

Group J: Germany, Romania, Iceland, North Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein

When will the qualifiers be played?



Gareth Bale admitted this could be the current Wales group’s last chance to qualify for the World Cup

The qualifying tournaments will be held between March and November 2021. The play-offs are planned for March 2022.

Matchday 1: March 24-25, 2021
Matchday 2: 27.-28. March 2021
Matchday 3: March 30th to March 31st, 2021
Matchday 4: September 1st to 2nd, 2021
Matchday 5: September 4th to 5th, 2021
Matchday 6: September 7th to 8th, 2021
Matchday 7: October 8th to 9th, 2021
Matchday 8: October 11-12, 2021
Matchday 9: 11.-13. November 2021
Matchday 10: 14.-16. November 2021

What’s the game plan?

What if you finish second in your group?

Another three places will be played between the 10 runners-up in the group and the two highest-ranking teams in the Nations League that have not yet qualified or have not finished second.

These 12 teams will be divided into three play-off paths, each with four countries, in order to determine the last three European berths. The format consists of two knockout rounds from which the three additional teams qualify.

UEFA Nations League group winners

division Group winners rank
A France 1
A Belgium 2
A Italy 3
A Spain 4th
B. Wales 17th
B. Austria 18th
B. Czech Republic 19th
B. Hungary 20th
C. Slovenia 33
C. Montenegro 34
C. Albania 35
C. Armenia 36
D. Gibraltar 49
D. Faroe Islands 50

Overall Ranking of the Nations League – Top 22

TBD France
TBD Belgium
TBD Italy
TBD Spain
5 Portugal
6th Netherlands
7th Denmark
8th Germany
9 England
10 Poland
11 Switzerland
12th Croatia
13th Ukraine
14th Sweden
15th Bosnia and Herzegovina
16 Iceland
17th Wales
18th Austria
19th Czech Republic
20th Hungary
21 Finland
22nd Norway

When do the play-offs take place?


Scottish goalkeeper David Marshall says reaching the World Cup is the new goal after qualifying for the Euro

There will be rounds of play-offs in a game (semifinals and finals, with the home teams drawn) and the three path winners will qualify for the World Cup.

The semi-finals will be held from March 24th to 25th, 2022 and hosted by the six best-placed runners-up in the qualifying group stage.

The final will take place on March 28 and 29, 2022 and the hosts will be determined by a tie.

What happens next?

The draw for the 2022 World Cup final will take place in April 2022.

The 13 European nations will join the 19 nations to qualify from the other five FIFA confederations and will be split into four pots based on their FIFA world rankings. UEFA can have a maximum of two teams in the same group.

WM data

  • Group stage: November 21, 2022 – December 2, 2022
  • Round of 16: December 3 to 6, 2022
  • Quarter-finals: December 9-10, 2022
  • Semi-finals: 13-14 December 2022
  • Third place match: December 17, 2022
  • Final: December 18, 2022